3The accession Treaty was signed in April 2005, when both Bulgaria and Romania obtained the status of acceding country. The accession of these countries was initially planned for 2004 but Romania and Bulgaria actually joined the EU in 2007. The European Commission officially considers the 2007 enlargement as part of the 2004 one.